MINUTES OF CEREMONIAL COUNCIL

Friday, 19 May 2023 (8:01 - 8:05 pm)

PRESENT

Cllr Donna Lumsden (Chair) Cllr Irma Freeborn (Deputy Chair)

Cllr Andrew Achilleos Cllr Sade Bright Cllr Nashitha Choudhury Cllr John Dulwich Cllr Syed Ghani Cllr Manzoor Hussain Cllr Giasuddin Miah Cllr Adegboyega Oluwole Cllr Michel Pongo Cllr Chris Rice Cllr Darren Rodwell Cllr Muazzam Sandhu Cllr Harriet Spoor Cllr Maureen Worby

Cllr Dorothy Akwaboah Cllr Josie Channer Cllr Muhib Chowdhury Cllr Edna Fergus Cllr Kashif Haroon Cllr Jane Jones Cllr Margaret Mullane Cllr Moin Quadri Cllr Glenda Paddle Cllr Moin Quadri Cllr Lynda Rice Cllr Emily Rodwell Cllr Faraaz Shaukat Cllr Dominic Twomey Cllr Mukhtar Yusuf Cllr Saima Ashraf Cllr Faruk Choudhury Cllr Alison Cormack Cllr Cameron Geddes Cllr Victoria Hornby Cllr Elizabeth Kangethe Cllr Fatuma Nalule Cllr Fatuma Nalule Cllr Simon Perry Cllr Hardial Singh Rai Cllr Ingrid Robinson Cllr Muhammad Saleem Cllr Jack Shaw Cllr Phil Waker Cllr Sabbir Zamee

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Cllr Princess Bright Cllr Regina Rahman Cllr Lee Waker

Cllr Rocky Gill Cllr Tony Ramsay Cllr Mohammed Khan Cllr Paul Robinson

5. Declaration of Members' Interests

There were no declarations of interest.

6. Nominations for Honorary Freedom of the Borough

The Chair advised that an extraordinary meeting of the Ceremonial Council had been called to consider nominations for the award of the Freedom of the Borough, the highest honour that a Council could bestow on an individual in recognition of their outstanding achievements.

Councillor Ashraf moved and Councillor Geddes seconded the nomination of Luljeta Nuzi as Honorary Freewoman of the Borough.

Councillor Twomey moved and Councillor D. Rodwell seconded the nomination of Terry Miller MBE as Honorary Freeman of the Borough.

The Ceremonial Council **resolved** to award the Honorary Freedom of the Borough to Luljeta Nuzi and Terry Miller MBE.